Simu Liu tapped to host Academy’s Scientific and Technical Awards

Simu Liu tapped to host Academy’s Scientific and Technical AwardsSimu Liu tapped to host Academy’s Scientific and Technical Awards
Photo by Jeff Kravitz/FilmMagic via Getty
Simu Liu has been selected to host the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Scientific and Technical Awards presentation.
During the awards presentation, Liu will present nine awards. 
One of the awards is the highly esteemed Gordon E. Sawyer Award, which will be presented to lens innovator Iain Neil. 
Furthermore, 19 individual award recipients will be recognized for their contributions to eight scientific and technical achievements, including the CineTape distance measurement system and Preston Cinema Systems Light Ranger 2.
Another top honoree will be Ryan Laney for his creative use of AI-driven facial technology. 
In the 2020 documentary film “Welcome to Chechnya,” Laney utilized the technology to create a digital “disguise” for subjects, protecting their identities while preserving their facial expressions. He will be celebrated with an award of commendation in the form of a special plaque.
Two noteworthy honorees of Asian descent are Theodore Kim and Audrey Wong for their use of the Fizt2 elastic simulation system, a software tool designed for the simulation and visualization of physical objects and their elastic behavior. 
It can help depict how an object may deform and be shaped by, among other things, impact or compression. 
Barbara Ford Grant, chair of the Scientific and Technical Awards Committee, said of this year’s awards: 

This year we honor achievements spanning accomplishments from pioneering methods in practical rain effects to career-long contributions in optical design for cinematography to humanistic-driven AI techniques. This outstanding work has enabled new and exciting ways of creating and further expanding how we experience motion pictures.

Liu’s upcoming projects include the rom-com “One True Loves” with Phillipa Soo and Greta Gerwig’s “Barbie” with Margot Robbie and Ryan Gosling.
Share this Article
Your leading
Asian American
news source
© 2024 NextShark, Inc. All rights reserved.