Oscar winner Michelle Yeoh elected as International Olympic Committee member

Oscar winner Michelle Yeoh elected as International Olympic Committee memberOscar winner Michelle Yeoh elected as International Olympic Committee member
via Astro AWANI
Actor Michelle Yeoh was one of the newest members elected to the International Olympic Committee body on Tuesday, pushing the total number of members to 107.
Key details: Yeoh, 61, was among the eight new members voted into the IOC membership body during the 141st IOC Session in Mumbai, India, on Tuesday. She was elected after receiving a 67-9 vote in a secret ballot.
Princess Nora of Liechtenstein, the committee’s longest-serving member at 39 years, initiated the oath-taking ceremony for Yeoh, which consisted of the “Crazy Rich Asians” actor reading a 104-word oath while holding the Olympic white with five-colored rings flag.
What their duties are: Some of the members’ duties include approving future Olympic hosts and changing the Olympic rules to extend Olympic President Thomas Bach’s 12-year term limit, which will end in 2025. They will reportedly be asked about the change at the 2024 Olympics in Paris.
How she reacted: In an Instagram post on Tuesday, the “Everything Everywhere All At Once” star wrote she is “happy” and “humbled” by the election, adding that it was a “huge privilege to become an IOC member.”
“I understand the power that sport has to inspire people, change their lives and improve the world – and this is why I am so excited to become an IOC Member,” the Academy Award-winning actor continued.
Other members: Yeoh and the other seven members all received a golden medallion presented by Bach to commemorate their membership. Another new member from Asia who was elected on Tuesday was Kim Jae-youl, a veteran Korean sports administrator from the International Skating Union. He is reportedly the 12th person from South Korea to join the Olympic committee.
Joining them are Cecilia Tait from Peru, Yael Arad from Israel, Balázs Fürjes from Hungary, Michael Mronz from Germany, Mehrez Boussayene from Tunisia and Petra Sörling of Sweden.
Share this Article
Your leading
Asian American
news source
© 2024 NextShark, Inc. All rights reserved.