Janet Yang re-elected as Academy president

Janet Yang re-elected as Academy presidentJanet Yang re-elected as Academy president
Janet Yang has been re-elected as the president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS).
Voting: The organization’s board of governors unanimously voted for Yang’s second consecutive one-year term. AMPAS presidents are eligible to serve up to four consecutive one-year terms, and since Yang is currently in her fifth year as a governor-at-large, she remains eligible to run again in 2024 and 2025. 
About Yang: The film producer’s career in Hollywood was influenced by her time at Amblin Entertainment, where she had the opportunity to work closely with filmmaker Steven Spielberg and producer Kathleen Kennedy.
Yang’s notable projects include “The Joy Luck Club,” “The People vs. Larry Flynt,” “Zero Effect,” “High Crimes,” “Dark Matter,” “Shanghai Calling” and the Oscar-nominated animated feature “Over the Moon.” She won an Emmy for the HBO film “Indictment: The McMartin Trial.”
Yang’s involvement with the Academy spans back to 2002 when she became a member of the Producers branch. Over the years, she has served in various capacities, including as vice president and chair of the Membership Committee.
Other members: In addition to Yang’s re-election, the board of governors also elected several other officers for the upcoming year.
Among the new appointees are film producer Bonnie Arnold as vice president and chair of the Membership Committee and special effects makeup artist Howard Berger as vice president and chair of the Museum Committee. Other officers include Brooke Breton, Tom Duffield, DeVon Franklin, Lynette Howell Taylor, Howard A. Rodman and Kim Taylor-Coleman, each heading various committees to guide the Academy’s initiatives.

Share this Article
Your leading
Asian American
news source
© 2024 NextShark, Inc. All rights reserved.