‘Everything Everywhere All at Once’ lands 8 Independent Spirit Award nominations

‘Everything Everywhere All at Once’ lands 8 Independent Spirit Award nominations‘Everything Everywhere All at Once’ lands 8 Independent Spirit Award nominations
The multiverse-spanning spectacle “Everything Everywhere All at Once” has proven to be an awards-season frontrunner after securing the most Independent Spirit Award nominations on Tuesday.
The film’s eight nominations include a pair of Best Supporting Performance nominations for Jamie Lee Curtis and Ke Huy Quan, a Best Leading Performance nomination for Michelle Yeoh and a Best Feature nomination. 
Trailing “Everything Everywhere All at Once” are the composer character study “Tár,” with seven nominations, and the father-daughter drama “Aftersun,” with five nominations.

A24, the production company behind “Everything Everywhere All at Once,” leads all studios with a grand total of 24 nominations across seven films. Among them is “After Yang,” a film that also delves into the Asian diasporic experience with sci-fi elements, which notched a pair of nominations for Best Screenplay and Best Director.
The Spirit Awards is a celebration of independent cinema. Winners are presented with metal trophies depicting a bird perched on a pole wrapped with shoestrings, which represents the “shoestring” budgets of independent films. 
The winners are chosen by members of arts nonprofit Film Independent and will be announced at the 38th annual Film Independent Spirit Awards ceremony on March 4, 2023. Television nominees for the awards will be announced on Dec. 13.
A full list of film nominations can be seen below.
Best Feature
“Bones and All”
“Everything Everywhere All at Once”
“Our Father, the Devil”
“Women Talking”
Best Director
Todd Field, “TÁR”
Kogonada, “After Yang”
Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”
Sarah Polley, “Women Talking”
Halina Reijn, “Bodies Bodies Bodies”
Best First Feature
“Emily the Criminal”
“The Inspection”
“Palm Trees and Power Lines”
Best Lead Performance
Cate Blanchett, “TÁR”
Dale Dickey, “A Love Song”
Mia Goth, “Pearl”
Regina Hall, “Honk for Jesus, Save Your Soul”
Paul Mescal, “Aftersun”
Aubrey Plaza, “Emily the Criminal”
Jeremy Pope, “The Inspection”
Taylor Russell, “Bones and All”
Andrea Riseborough, “To Leslie”
Michelle Yeoh, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”
Best Supporting Performance
Jamie Lee Curtis, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”
Brian Tyree Henry, “Causeway”
Nina Hoss, “TÁR”
Brian d’Arcy James, “The Cathedral”
Ke Huy Quan, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”
Trevante Rhodes, “Bruiser”
Theo Rossi, “Emily the Criminal”
Mark Rylance, “Bones and All”
Jonathan Tucker, “Palm Trees and Power Lines”
Gabrielle Union, “The Inspection”
Breakthrough Performance
Frankie Corio, “Aftersun”
Gracija Filipović, “Murina”
Stephanie Hsu, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”
Lily McInerny, “Palm Trees and Power Lines”
Daniel Zolghadri, “Funny Pages”
Best Screenplay
“After Yang”
“Catherine Called Birdy”
“Everything Everywhere All at Once”
“Women Talking”
Best First Screenplay
“Bodies Bodies Bodies”
“Emily the Criminal”
“Fire Island”
“Palm Trees and Power Lines”
Best Cinematography
“Neptune Frost”
Best Editing
“The Cathedral”
“Everything Everywhere All at Once”
“Marcel the Shell with Shoes On”
Best Documentary
“A House Made of Splinters”
“All That Breathes”
“All the Beauty and the Bloodshed”
“Riotsville USA”
Best International Film
“Leonor Will Never Die”
“Return to Seoul”
“Saint Omer”
Someone to Watch Award
Adamma Ebo, “Honk for Jesus, Save Your Soul”
Nikyatu Jusu, “Nanny”
Araceli Lemos, “Holy Emy”
Truer Than Fiction Award
Isabel Castro, “Mija”
Reid Davenport, “I Didn’t See You There”
Rebeca Huntt, “Beba (Bayba)”
John Cassavetes Award
“The African Desperate”
“A Love Song”
“The Cathedral”
“Holy Emy”
“Something in the Dirt”
Robert Altman Award
“Women Talking”
Producers Award
Liz Cardenas
Tory Lenosky
David Grove Churchill Viste
Featured Image via A24
Share this Article
Your leading
Asian American
news source
© 2024 NextShark, Inc. All rights reserved.