‘Everything Everywhere All at Once,’ ‘RRR,’ ‘Pachinko’ win at Critics Choice Awards

‘Everything Everywhere All at Once,’ ‘RRR,’ ‘Pachinko’ win at Critics Choice Awards‘Everything Everywhere All at Once,’ ‘RRR,’ ‘Pachinko’ win at Critics Choice Awards
via Emma McIntyre/Getty Images
A24’s “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (“EEAO”) won big at the 28th Critics’ Choice Awards on Sunday night. 
“EEAO” notably received 14 nominations in total. The critically acclaimed film ultimately won Best Picture, Best Supporting Actor (Ke Huy Quan), Best Editing (Paul Rogers), Best Director (co-directors Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert) and Best Original Screenplay (Kwan and Scheinert).
“This award is dedicated to my dad, a Taiwanese immigrant who worked himself into an early grave,” producer Jonathan Wang said as part of the cast’s Best Picture acceptance speech. “And this is really dedicated to the Evelyns, the Waymonds, the immigrant parents who would kill themselves for us immigrant children to give us a better life.”
Co-director Kwan gave an emotional thank you to his mother in his acceptance speech for Best Director.

“This is dedicated to my mother, who not only inspired the movie, but was the first person to plant the seed in my head that I could be a director. She told me, maybe the first Asian American immigrant mother to tell her son to go to film school,” he said. 
Quan followed suit and gave a heartfelt speech as he snagged the award for Best Supporting Actor.

“You’ve not only helped audiences find our little movie, but you’ve also helped audiences to remember who I am,” he said. “And for that, for that I am so so grateful to you.”
Other popular film and TV shows, such as Indian action-drama film “RRR” and Apple TV series “Pachinko,” also received recognition at the recent award ceremony.
“RRR” was nominated in five categories and won Best Foreign Language Film and Best Song for “Naatu Naatu.” Meanwhile, for television, “Pachinko” won Best Foreign Language Series.

Related stories:
Share this Article
Your leading
Asian American
news source
© 2024 NextShark, Inc. All rights reserved.