Broadway musical “KPOP” to close after just 17 performances

Broadway musical “KPOP” to close after just 17 performancesBroadway musical “KPOP” to close after just 17 performances
Broadway musical “KPOP” is set to close after 17 regular performances and 44 previews.
On Tuesday, producers of the musical announced its closing date, sharing that the “KPOP” cast will perform one last time on Dec. 11 at New York City’s The Circle in the Square Theatre.
“KPOP” started previews on Oct. 13, and its official opening night was on Nov. 27. The musical made history due to its celebration of K-pop and Korean culture on a Broadway stage. It also features an 18-member cast composed of singers, actors and dancers of Asian American Pacific Islander (AAPI) descent.
However, struggles at the box office were reportedly the main reason behind “KPOP”’s abrupt closing date.
According to Deadline, “KPOP” grossed just $126,493 last week, with the average ticket price being $32. Around 72% of the theater’s seats were reportedly filled.
Producers have announced that they are offering 200 complimentary tickets to AAPI community members and youth for “KPOP”’s final performance. This will be followed by a panel discussion on AAPI representation on the Broadway stage with renowned AAPI theater artists such as David Henry Hwang, the first Asian American playwright to win a Tony Award.
The recent announcement came after the show’s company called out New York Times chief theater critic Jesse Green for describing the lighting done by scenic and lighting designer Jiyoun Chang as “squint-inducing” in a review.
View post on X
“KPOP,” which was written by Jason Kim, is directed by Teddy Bergman and choreographed by Jennifer Weber. Helen Park worked on the show’s music, lyrics, music production and arrangements, while Max Vernon worked on its music and lyrics.
The musical stars Luna, BoHyung, Julia Abueva, Major Curda, Jinwoo Jung, Jiho Kang, Amy Keum, James Kho, Marina Kondo, Eddy Lee, Joshua Lee, Jully Lee, Lina Rose Lee, Timothy H. Lee, Abraham Lim, Min, Kate Mina Lin, Aubie Merrylees, Patrick Park, Zachary Noah Piser, Kevin Woo and John Yi.
Featured Image via Playbill
Share this Article
Your leading
Asian American
news source
© 2024 NextShark, Inc. All rights reserved.